Soap Bottle Decor DIY

IMG_2014     Every month I receive a Birchbox which I absolutely love, but once I use a sample up I always feel bad throwing away the cute little bottles.  I don’t know why but I always feel like there’s something that I could do with them due to their small size. So recently I decided that they would make really cute decor.  I searched around for directions on making something similar to what I had in mind and when I failed to find anything I decided that I would make it up on the spot.  I’m pretty pleased with the result and I thought that I would share the final product with you guys along with how to make them in case you wanted something just as adorable in your house.

For this DIY you will need the following:

Empty bottles (Sample and regular size both work)

Paint in any color

Paint brushes in different sizes

Water

A bowl

A hole puncher (Optional)

Pretty string/ribbon (Optional)

Step 1:  The first thing you need to do to transform these bottles is clean them out really well.  NoIMG_1989 matter how empty you think te bottle is there is always some leftover soap or whatever was in the bottle.  To clean out mine I first rinsed the inside out and then I placed them in a bowl of water.  I squeezed the bottle allowing it to fill up with water and then emptied it into a bowl.  I repeated this a couple of times until the water that I emptied was no longer soapy.

Step 2:  After you have cleaned out all of your bottles you are going to want to start
painting.  Taking the a big brush and a color of your choice you will paint on the bottle.  For your base color you will want to do 2-3 coats of paint.  I let my bottles dry for 15 minutes in between coats.

Step 3:  Once your main color is done and dry you will need to take out your smallest IMG_1999brush to paint on the details.  You can paint on whatever design you will think looks the best. Let your creativity take over for this part. On mine I did a rough painting of the continents as well as a quote.  I also did one with chalkboard paint because I thought that would be a fun twist.

Step 4 (Optional): If you want to take this DIY one step further and hang these adorable paintings you can take the hole puncher and punch a hole in the top of the bottle where it is sealed.  Then you can take a piece of string or ribbon that is long enough a string it through the hole.

     These dainty bottles make for a great way to liven up an empty space such as a desk or bookshelf.  Since this decor is super easy to make you can use all types of paint to mix it up.  I think that next time I make these I’m going to try glow in the dark paint to see what it turns out like.  I hope you guys love this DIY as much as I do!  See you later!

IMG_2011

Leave a Reply

