Snowy Day

Hurray!

In my hometown, it finally snowed more than an inch.  I spent the majority of the day walking around with a friend of mine and enjoying the beauty that the snow brings to nature.  I took a lot of pictures and here are just a few that I thought you guys might enjoy.

IMG_3112.JPG
The weighed down branches create somewhat of an arch.
IMG_3133.JPG
The snow makes the trees frame the nearby homes.
IMG_3126.JPG
This one is definitely one of my favorites.

I love this picture the sun is glowing and perfect

To celebrate the snow, I thought I’d share this cool snowy trick you can do to make instant maple syrup candy.  Although it’s not the amazing golden maple leaf-shaped candies you can buy in Vermont, it’s a pretty easy and delicious snack.  This is a recipe that takes mere seconds to make and let me just say, it’s also a winter favorite of mine.  It’s inspired by the Little House on the Prairie book series.  I used to always read these books with my mom and in one of the novels they created something quite similar to this.

You will need:

Maple Syrup

A pie tin

Snow

A pot

1. You’re going to need to fill your pie tin with snow.  You can IMG_3161.JPGeither leave the tin out while the snow is falling like I did OR you can pack a fresh layer of snow into the tin.  Either way works.

2. Next your going to need to pour one layer of maple syrup into IMG_3163.JPGthe bottom of a small pot.  Turn the stove on High and bring the maple syrup to a boil.

3. Once the maple syrup is boiling, quickly pour IMG_3169.JPGit over the snow, moving it around so the maple syrup is all spread out.

 

Now that you’ve completed these three simple steps, your ready to enjoy!  You can use a spoon or just pig out with your fingers to eat it.  I think that this is such a great activity for a snowy day and anyone can make it.

IMG_3125.JPG
A jumping shot of my dear friend, I just couldn’t resist adding this one in. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

