Single Serving Sponge Cake

Sometimes I get the sudden need to have cake.  I mean, who doesn’t?  Cake is pretty amazing, but the mess it takes to create the wonderful deliciousness is not.  Almost all recipes that I know make plenty more cake then I care to eat.  Some days, I want cake, but without the mess and the twenty extra pounds.  Thus, this beauty was born.  A single serving of a simple sponge cake.  You could also qualify this as a muffin, but I’m going with cake because the heaping helping of ice cream that I served myself on top of this would not go down well with the rules of breakfast.

Single Serving Sponge Cake

Ingredients: 

1 tablespoon of butter (softened)

2 tablespoons of sugar

1 egg (room temperature)

3 1/2 tablespoons flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon mini chocolate chips (or whatever filling you desire, fruit would be my other suggestion)

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees fahrenheit.  Spray a ramekin with non stick spray or grease IMG_3185.JPGit with butter.  Inside this ramekin whisk the butter and sugar until they are combined.

2. Add the egg to this mixture and continue to whisk until combined.

3. Now whisk in the flour, baking powder, and whatever filling you chose (I chose chocolate chips). IMG_3188.JPG

4. Place the ramekin in the oven for 20-25 minutes until it is slightly golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean.  Once it comes out, allow it to cool for 5 minutes before enjoying.  You can top this with ice cream, whipped cream, or whatever you really want.  I think that buttercream frosting would taste spectacular on top of this.  As I said before, I topped mine with ice cream and that combination was pretty tasty.  IMG_3196.JPG

 

 

Leave a Reply

