Sierra Bikini Top

So far, my summer has been packed to the brim with vacations and appointments.  I feel like I was only home for a couple days total in July, leading me to not have any time to come up with new posts for the blog.

During all of this hecticness, Papers and Pastels turned one year old!  A couple weeks late, but still here all the same:

 HAPPY FIRST BIRTHDAY BLOG!

IMG_4458.JPG

Alright!  Now that we got that out of the way I’m so excited to show you guys my recent obsession, and right in time for the dog days of summer.  I was browsing the web one day and I came across this sale at my favorite fabric store, Spoonflower.  They were having a BOGO on fat quarters.  For those of you who don’t know, a fat quarter is a quarter of a yard of fabric.  They’re often used to make quilts, but there are a couple other projects that you can use them for.

Anyways, I had fallen in love with a couple of prints of fabric on Spoonflower and with this BOGO sale I knew that I absolutely had to buy them.  The problem was that I didn’t have anything to do with said fabric.  I’m not a quilter and I didn’t really want to make little stuffed animals because I didn’t have a purpose for either of those things.  Of course, being helpful as always, Spoonflower had a entire article on their blog about what you could make with a fat quarter other than a quilt.  One of the ideas was that you could make a bralette.  I had never sewn anything like that before, so I clicked on one of the bralette patterns that interested me the most.  It ended up being, the Sierra Bra.  The only problem with the whole thing was that I didn’t need another bralette.  What I really needed was another bikini top, not a bralette.

IMG_4609.JPG

This got me thinking.  If I took the lace away and used a different hook, could I make it a swimsuit?  I was starting to get excited thinking about it and I immediately started searching what I would need in order to transform this bralette into a bikini.  It ended up being super simple, so I thought that I would share it with you guys!  I only had to tweak a couple things and I was good to go.

Here is the pattern which all I didn’t change at all, this is the original pattern and all rights belong to Madalynne, the creator.

I did not change the pattern, but I did change the materials.  All you need is:

1 Fat Quarter of Lycra or Spandex (Or another waterproof stretch fabric)

2.5 yards 1/4″ or 3/8″ picot/plush elastic

0.75 yards 1/4″ or 3/8″ strap elastic

Two 1/4″ or 3/8″ Rings and Sliders

One 1″ G-Hook

Thread

I bought my elastic and hook from the Tailor Made Shop on Esty.  They also have their own website but the two stores have a couple different elastics and hooks so you will want to check out both to make sure you have found everything you want.  Also, you need to choose either 1/4″ or 3/8″ elastic and rings and sliders.  You cannot mix and match or they will not fit together.

IMG_4615.JPG

For the first set of instructions on Madalynne‘s blog I skipped everything having to do with lace and ended up just cutting out my fabric.

For the second set I followed all of the instructions except for the part at the very end about finishing the bottom with lace.

IMG_4598.JPG

For the third and final set of instructions I did everything except for the hook.  I also added in a fold around the entire bottom of the bikini, ridding it of any raw edges.  For the hook, I took my G-Hook I folded the end of the back of the bikini in half over it and sewed a straight line several times.  Taking the other side of the back I mimicked the fold excluding the part about the G-Hook.  That way I had the G-Hook attached to the bikini and I also had a place to clip it in.

Screen Shot 2016-08-22 at 4.31.43 PM.jpg

That’s it!  It’s super simple and not to mention adorable.  I’ve already made two of these bikinis and I’m planning out what fabric I want to use for my third.  I hope you guys find it as fun and simple as I do!

IMG_4622.JPG

One thought on “Sierra Bikini Top

Leave a Reply

