August Lookbook 2016

The dog days of summer are always the hardest to dress for.  I rarely want to get out of my warm and cozy bed because I know that if I do, summer will be over before I know it.  I would rather stay tucked up in mountains of pillows in blankets with my pup curled up at my feet pretending that school doesn’t exist than actually facing reality.  Unfortunately, because reality is a reality I do eventually have to get up and get on with my day.  So for those of you who suffer with facing real life (like me), I decided I would create this lookbook to get you all excited for August (and maybe dare, I say, school?) before it’s gone.

IMG_4741.JPG

IMG_4656.JPG

IMG_4749
This first outfit is one of my favorites at the moment.  I love the combination of the cobalt blue lace with the black floral panel.  I also love the pop of color that the bralette adds to this normally dull outfit.  {Dress- Lush (Similar) Bralette-Urban Outfitters }

IMG_5156.JPG

I absolutely love this outfit, it’s one of my year round favorites and if you know me, you know that I wear flowy pants at least once a month.  Palazzo pants are one of my favorites as they are comfy and feel almost like pajamas.  Matched with a simple white top these pants create an accent on a simple outfit that’s super comfortable.  It’s perfect for those days when you don’t want to leave the house, but you have to! {Pants- Boutique (Almost the exact same) Shirt- J. Crew}

IMG_5133.JPG

This dress is more on the autumn side than summer which is why I think that it’s the perfect dress for August.  I actually made this dress myself a couple months ago with some fabric that I picked up in New York at a fabric store called Purl Soho.  They have some of the cutest simple patterns.  Since this dress is very simple I’m excited to wear it this fall.  There are many ways to style it and I know that it’ll be easy to dress up with some flats or dress down with some boots and a scarf. {Dress- Handmade}

IMG_5289.JPG

August is when the weather starts to become fickle.  The mornings get colored and the afternoons get hotter.  It’s hard to tell exactly what the weather will end up being.  That’s where layering comes in to play.  This flannel is warm enough to keep me from freezing but lightweight all the same so that I am not too hot.  Even so if it gets to be super hot in the afternoon the flannel can always be shed, as the outfit under neither is a classic. {Flannel-J. Crew (Similar) Shirt-J. Crew Shorts-American Eagle}

IMG_2988

IMG_2987

If you haven’t figured it out by now (3 dresses in), dresses are my favorite.  I spotted this one at Bloomingdales while browsing a couple months ago.  I had been on a targeted mission, but somehow had ended up in the Aqua section of Bloomingdales.  I couldn’t resist trying it on and the rest is history.  Needless to say this dress has been a staple in my summer wardrobe since it’s so simple and can be matched with practically any cardigan if it gets a little chilly. {Dress- Aqua}

IMG_5015.JPG

IMG_5065.JPG

Last, but not least, I have been loving this tank top and shorts combination that I came up with a couple months ago while the majority of my clothes were in the wash.  The plain color of the shorts really makes the floral colors pop on top.  It’s perfect for the warmer afternoons as it is a lightweight outfit.  Matched with a cardigan, however, it is also excellent for the chilly mornings that go hand and hand with the coming fall. {Shirt- LIT Shorts- Brandy Melville}

I hope I inspired you guys to go out and experience the world during the Sunday of months (in my opinion).  See you guys soon!

2 thoughts on “August Lookbook 2016

Leave a Reply

