Mini Spiced Applesauce Cake Recipe

As I said in my last post, fall is here.  Fall may not be my favorite season (Winter has that spot taken), but the flavors of fall are my favorite.  I mean come on, it’s hard to beat, ooey gooey pumpkin muffins, warm apple pies, spice cakes?!  And apple picking, how can I forget apple picking.  Apple picking is absolutely the best.  It’s the week of year where I eat sleep and breathe apples, incorporating them into anything and everything.  When I say that I love apples, it’s an understatement.  Everyday I find a way to eat at least two.  What can I say?  Apples are the perfect food!IMG_5377.JPG

Which is one of the reasons that I love this cake by Gourmet.  It’s the perfect cake for fall and it uses my favorite- apples.  The applesauce in the cake can be homemade or store-bought it doesn’t really matter- but if you have a lot of apples left over from apple picking I suggest you whip up a batch of applesauce and use it for this cake, you won’t regret it.  If you need any brand suggestions for apple sauce, Trader Joe’s is my favorite.  Every recipe I’ve ever made with it has been amazing.IMG_5404.JPGIMG_5385.JPG

I fell in love with this recipe when it first came out in the late 2009s- I know, that was forever ago!  Since then, I’ve made it at least twice every fall.  It’s the perfect cake and it doesn’t leave very many leftovers.  The few leftovers that it may or may not leave can be eaten for breakfast (don’t worry I won’t tell anyone).

The problem is, if you’re all alone, why would you want to make an entire cake?  I was alone over the weekend and a sudden craving for this cake hit, but I knew that if I made the whole thing I would just end up eating it and that would not be good.  Then I laid my eyes on my mini cake pans and I began to think: could I downsize this recipe?  And that was it, I rummaged through the pantry making sure I had all of the ingredients and set to work.  Trust me you’re going to love this one.IMG_5375.JPG

Mini Spiced Applesauce Cake Recipe

  • Servings: 4
  • Print

I want to start by saying I do not claim any rights to this recipe, I just scaled it down and wanted to share it with you guys, all rights belong to Gourmet this is their recipe, not mine.

FOR CAKE

  • cup all-purpose flour
  • teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/8 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/16 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • large eggs
  • 3/4 cups unsweetened applesauce (homemade or store-bought it doesn’t matter)
  • 1/4 cup of your favorite nuts (I used pecans) [optional]

FOR FROSTING

  • 2 1/2 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/8 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup confectioners sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

MAKE CAKE:

  •  Preheat oven to 350°F with rack in middle. Butter an 4- or 5-inch square cake pan.  You could also use a loaf pan, the baking times might vary.
  • Whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices.
  • Beat butter, brown sugar, and vanilla with an electric mixer at high speed until pale and fluffy, 2 to 3 minutes. DO NOT SKIP THIS it’s important to let the butter and sugar cream together for long amounts of time.  Add the egg, beating well, then beat in applesauce. At low speed, mix in flour mixture until just combined, then stir in nuts (if using).
  • Spread batter evenly in pan and bake until golden-brown and a wooden pick inserted into center comes out clean, 20 to 35 minutes. Cool in pan 15 minutes. Run a knife around edge of cake to loosen, then invert onto a plate. Re-invert cake onto a rack to cool completely.

MAKE FROSTING:

  • Beat cream cheese, butter, and vanilla with an electric mixer at high speed until fluffy. Sift confectioners sugar and cinnamon over cream cheese mixture, then beat at medium speed until incorporated.
  • Spread frosting over top of cooled cake.

I hope you guys like this recipe, I know that I sure did!IMG_5399.JPG

2 thoughts on “Mini Spiced Applesauce Cake Recipe

  1. Zeba would be proud. This is gold, perfection, bliss. You are a fantastic writer and we need more of you in the world. Keep baking and keep on writing, your readers love you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

