The Best Apple Pecan Scones

This morning I woke up and I wanted a scone.  Scratch that I needed a scone.  But not just any random run of the mill scone, I wanted a very specific scone.  Not drenched in icing sweet but not crumble apart dull.  The very scone I was craving was fluffy in the most desecrate way, covered with a subtle crunch.IMG_5739.JPG

I dashed into my kitchen and flung open the refrigerator, only to find that I was lacking one very vital scone ingredient- berries.  Feeling rejected I sunk into my couch and opened up my laptop in search of a non-berry scone.  It was then that I spotted the shiny red of apples out of the corner of my eye.  Within a second I was peeling apples and scribbling down notes on what would pair well.

If you’re craving a scone and are in the same berry-less boat as me, I’ve got you covered.  This recipe has got everything a scone lover like myself could hope for.  They are without a doubt the perfect scone for Fall (it’s not winter quite yet!).  I mean come on, they’ve got all the fall essentials.  Apples?  Check.  Pecans?  Check.  Cinnamon?  Check.  Oats?  Check.  They’ve even got a little bit of whole wheat flour so when you’re reaching for your fourth helping you don’t have to feel too guilty because they’re ‘healthy’.IMG_5736.JPGIMG_5738.JPGIMG_5740.jpgWithout further ado, I present to you the scones that my own mother stated were so good that she took two, and she never takes two.

Apple Pecan Scones

  • Servings: 8
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup pecans
  • 2 and 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup cold unsalted butter grated
  • 1/2 cup + 1 tablespoon heavy cream
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 cup packed light or dark brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 and 1/2 cups (about two medium) peeled and chopped apples
  • A generous pinch coarse sugar

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together both flours, baking powder, pecans, oats, cinnamon, and salt.
  3. Work the cold grated butter into the flour mixture with a pastry cutter or your hands.  I find that it’s always easiest to use your hands, just because you can feel any remaining chunks of butter.  Continue until the mixture is mostly combine and then set aside.
  4. Measure out the cream in a wet two cup measuring cup and crack the egg in it.  Add the egg, brown sugar, and vanilla to the measuring cup and then whisk.
  5. Pour the wet mixture on top of your dry ingredients. Then mix the mixture together with a rubber spatula until no flour chunks remain. Add the apple cubes and fold them into the dough.  The mixture will be a little wet- that’s okay.
  6. Cover a flat surface (like a cutting board) and your hands with flour.  Transfer the dough to the surface and kneed it three times to make sure that everything is evenly incorporated, adding a little more flour if needed.
  7. Shape the dough into a circle, about 8-9″ in diameter.  Brush the cream over the disc and then scatter the coarse sugar on.  Cut the dough with a sharp knife into 8 even portions.  Put the scones on the prepared baking sheet in two rows, eight on the top and eight on the bottom, so that there is roughly two inches of space in between each scone.
  8. Place in the oven to bake for 20 minutes.  The scones will have golden brown edges when they are done.  Allow scones to cool for a few minutes and then devour.  These scones will be gone in seconds, so it’s understandable if you can’t wait for them to cool, don’t worry, I didn’t wait either.

Note:  This recipe is adapted from these scones and these scones.  Both recipes are really good and I encourage you to try them out as well!

img_5742

2 thoughts on “The Best Apple Pecan Scones

Leave a Reply

