Healthy Apple Muffins

There are some days where I need to bake.  It’s not that I even want to bake (I mean of course I do, I always want to bake), it’s more then a want, it’s a need.  I absolutely have to bake or the world will fall apart… well maybe not, but I think you get the idea.
Today I woke up with this feeling.  I woke up and I wanted to bake.  I walked the dog and I wanted to bake.  I went for a run and I wanted to bake.  So, despite already baking multiple times a day for the past week, I decided that I would whip something up.  IMG_6107.JPGSince it’s the day after a exhausting long week of holiday prepping and meals I wanted to make something on the healthier side.  Instead of reaching for a stick of butter from the fridge, I padded over to my pantry to look for a jar of applesauce- a great butter/oil substitute.  However, there was none to be seen.

After searching the pantry for a solid ten minutes I returned to my kitchen, racking my brain for what I could do.  That was when my gaze landed on the bowl of apples right in front of me.  Within minutes I was setting to work, peeling apples and dicing them into cubes and slivers.IMG_6112.JPGI’ve never made applesauce before, but I knew the basics.  Apples+water+heat= applesauce.  So that’s what I did, I threw water and apple slices on the stove and let it sit for half an hour and presto applesauce!  I also threw a couple pecans in this recipe just because.  Of course this is only for a small batch but it would definitely work to triple it if you wanted to make a dozen.  These muffins are also vegan for all of you vegans out there.  Get ready, my friends, because after a week full of unhealthy eating these muffins are exactly what you need.  Oh, and as a bonus they taste pretty dang delicious too.  IMG_6113.jpgIMG_6108.jpg

Healthy Apple Muffins

  • Servings: 4
  • Time: 30-60
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • a pinch of cloves
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 tablespoon flax seed and 3 tablespoon water combined
  • 2 tablespoon maple syrup
  • One apple
  • 1/4 cup water (or you can substitute 1/3 cup store bought unsweetened applesauce if you don’t want to make it)
  • 1-3 tablespoon chopped pecans (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400°F.  Place four muffin liners in a muffin tin, set aside.
  2. Take the apple and cut it in half, avoiding the core.  Take the smaller half and set it aside.  With the larger half, peel off the skin and cut it into skinny slices.
  3. Place the apple slices with a 1/4 cup water in a small pot over low heat with a cover.  Let it sit for half an hour, stirring occasionally. (If you are using store bought apple sauce, skip this step)
  4. While that cooks, in a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, and salt.  Set aside.
  5. Once the applesauce has cooked for half an hour add the flaxseed mixture to it and mix.  If your apples are still somewhat chunky you can mash it up with a fork until it is somewhat of a puree mixture.  It is okay if there are still a few chunks.
  6. Pour the wet mixture into the dry ingredients. Then mix together until combine.
  7. Take the set aside apple half and cut it into cubes.  Add this to the mixture along with the pecans if you are using.
  8. Scoop into the prepared muffin tins and place in the preheated oven.  Bake for 15-18 minutes until they are golden brown and a tester comes out clean.  Allow to cool for five minutes before eating.  Enjoy!

Note:  These muffins are best enjoyed the day that they are made and taste the best right after they are baked.

IMG_6103.JPG

Leave a Reply

