Healthy Chocolate Chip Scones {Vegan}

You guys are about to love me because I found a way to make eating chocolate healthy.  Or healthy-ish.  Yeah, I know, you’re probably confused because the words chocolate and healthy never seem to go together, and when they do the chocolate isn’t really chocolate.  Well today, you and me and a bowlful of batter are going to change all of that.  I mean, it’s about time, isn’t it?IMG_7020.JPG

These scones are good for you because of a little secret ingredient that makes the texture 10 times better and adds to your daily vegetable count.  This wonderful ingredient is zucchini.  Now I’m sure that you’ve all heard of zucchini muffins, but really zucchini scones are the next big thing.  I’m telling you, you can’t even tell that it’s there!  Zucchini is packed with potassium, Vitamin C, and dietary fiber, so why wouldn’t you throw a cup or so into all of your favorite baked goods?

IMG_7018.JPG

IMG_7027.JPG

These scones also include my latest obsession- coconut sugar.  It’s a tad bit healthier then plain white sugar and it’s loaded with flavor.  Coconut (in all forms) contains fatty acids that boosts your immunity and helps you absorb nutrients.  Looks pretty healthy in comparison to regular sugar, doesn’t it?  There’s a sort of cinnamony nutty aroma and flavor about it that I think adds a new dimension of taste to all of my creations in the kitchen.  I became hooked after making Dessert for Two’s Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies.  They’re amazing and a 110% must try.  Lately, I’ve found myself subbing out regular sugar in all the recipes I make for coconut sugar just so I can get that extra boost of flavor.

IMG_7015.JPG

Now onto the actual scones.  They’re vegan (because why not?) and even thought they’re lacking in dairy, they’re certainly not lacking in flavor.  I’m in love with these scones, and I’m pretty sure you will be too after you try them.

Healthy Chocolate Chip Scones

  • Servings: 8
  • Time: 40 minutes
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 cup coconut sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil frozen (stick in the freezer for at least 10 minutes prior to using)
  • 3/4 cup grated zucchini (about 1 small zucchini)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 tablespoon maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup chopped chocolate chips
  • Coarse sugar (optional)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  Seat a baking sheet with parchment paper aside for later.
  2. Whisk the flours, baking powder, sugar, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt in a large mixing bowl.
  3. Remove your coconut oil from the freezer and grate it into the bowl with the dry ingredients.  Use your hands, a pastry cutter, or a fork to work the coconut oil into the mixture until completely combined and no coconut oil chunks remain.
  4. Grate the zucchini into the mixture next and then add the almond milk, maple syrup and chocolate chips.  Combine.
  5. Dump the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and pat into a roughly 8 inch in diameter circle.  Then cut the circle into eight sections.
  6. Place each scone onto the baking sheet roughly 2 inches apart.  If desired, sprinkle each scone lightly with coarse sugar.
  7. Place in the oven and bake for 17 minutes or until golden brown.  Allow to cool for 5 minutes before eating.  Enjoy!

Yum.  Just thinking about these scones makes my mouth water.  I hope you like them as much as I do because I am definitely going to be adding these into my weekly  IMG_7013.JPG

 

Leave a Reply

