You had me at Chocolate Cake

I hate vegan butter.  And not just for one stand alone reason, for a whole bunch all bundled together.  First of all, it’s weird and it scares me.  It’s way too salty.  The taste is a bit funky.  It’s not natural.  Don’t even get me started about what’s in it.  Chemicals, dyes, additives. YUCK!  These (and many others) are the reasons that I rarely make vegan cakes.  The whole thing always turn out amazing, but whenever I eye the frosting my stomach starts to churn just thinking about that vegan butter.  I just can’t do it.

IMG_7224.JPG

So yesterday when I made a lovely salad with chickpeas and did what any sane baking obsessed person would do, saved the brine.  I decided that I was going to solve my hatred of vegan butter with chocolate aquafaba frosting (Aquafaba is this magical thing called bean juice for those of you who don’t know).  The only problem was that when I searched for a recipe I couldn’t find one.  Apparently not many people think that chocolate aquafaba frosting sounds do able.  Of course, being the stubborn person I am, I had my mind set.  I was going to make a chocolate cake with chocolate aquafaba frosting because that was what I had decided when I first turned on my oven and tied my apron around my waist.  Just because there was no recipe didn’t mean that I couldn’t make it.
IMG_7258.JPG

So with just one serving of chickpea brine I set to work, and ended up with a unfrosted cake and a soupy mess. It tasted amazing, but it was not fluffy or even close to solid.  It tasted like M&Ms but in drink form.  Clearly, I had not succeeded.  But that was just my first attempt, and although I am currently out of aquafaba, that does not mean I have given up.  Watch out chickpea brine, I’m coming for you!

 

IMG_7234

So now I was back at square one, a desire for cake (now complete with an actual cake), but no frosting.  Scouring the internet, I came across a recipe with coconut oil which I deemed worthy, and man am I glad that I did.  It’s delicious, not as good as chocolate aquafaba frosting would have been, but paired with this cake I think I’m 110% happy settling for this.

IMG_7262.JPG

There’s a slight coconut flavor to the frosting that’s just barely there but adds a little something.  This cake kind of tastes like a Almond Joy in my opinion, but with more chocolate and less coconut.  Don’t let the coconut scare you.  I don’t particularly like coconut, but in this, oh boy I love it.  Do your self a favor, put on your favorite fat pants and make this cake.

You Had Me at Chocolate Cake

  • Servings: 8-16
  • Print

Ingredients

  • FOR THE CAKE:
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup non-dairy milk (I used almond milk) mixed with 1 tsp white vinegar
  • 3 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp flax seed mixed with 3 Tbsp water (a flaxegg)
  • 6 Tbsp coconut sugar
  • 3 Tbsp maple syrup
  • FOR THE FROSTING:
  • 3 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 1/3 cup non-dairy milk
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a 8 inch square pan with cooking spray.
  2. Whisk the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a medium sized bowl.
  3. In a separate small bowl mix the olive oil, flax egg, sugar, maple syrup, and vanilla.
  4. Pour half of the wet into the dry followed by half of the milk mixed with vinegar.  Whisk to combine and then repeat the process with the remaining halves, mixing until just combine.  The mixture will appear to be very thick and have several lumps.
  5. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake for 15 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.  Allow to cool before frosting.
  6. Melt the chocolate in 30 second increments in a microwave.  Once melted, add the milk and microwave for 30 more seconds.  Add the coconut oil and stir vigorously until it is melted as well.
  7. Add the powdered sugar and mix until fully combined and no lumps of powdered sugar remain.
  8. Frost the cooled cake with the mixture and enjoy!  I topped mine with some sprinkles for a added crunch but you can leave it plan or top with whatever you want, nuts might be a fun option!

If you know me, you know that I’m obsessed with these sprinkles from Sweetapolita.  They’re of the Canadian Sugar Strand variety and I absolutely love them.  Sprinkle them on any baked good and they had a perfect sugary crunch that American sprinkles don’t have.  I highly recommend that you try them out.

IMG_7271.JPG

One thought on “You had me at Chocolate Cake

Leave a Reply

