The Best Single Muffin Recipe

I know I know, I posted a muffin recipe last weekend, but hear me out.  This muffin recipe is completely utterly totally different from the last one.  Well- maybe not that different but they definitely are not the same recipe.  For starters this recipe only makes a single muffin.  Yep, you read that right, no leftovers no overeating just you and your one single muffin.

IMG_7933

I decided to go with this type of recipe this weekend after desperately trying to find something that I could make for breakfast with only 1 tablespoon of butter in my fridge.  Needless to say, I need to go to the store.  But that’s off topic, let’s get back to the situtation right in front of us- breakfast.

IMG_7934

IMG_7927

This muffin is perfectly fluffy with the perfect amount of crunch that the outside needs.  The blueberries I added as my filling meld perfectly into the mixture and create beautiful swirls of color.  This recipe would work well with just about any filling, but I have a special weak spot for blueberry muffins, which is why I chose them for this recipe.  Give me a sunny morning, a blueberry muffin, and I’ll be one happy camper!

IMG_7936

The Best Singular Muffin

  • Servings: 1
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 3 1/2 tablespoons all purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • a scant 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 tablespoon unsalted butter (melted and cooled)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 tablespoon milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon sour cream
  • 2 tablespoons blueberries (or whatever filling you prefer)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  Line a ramekin with a single muffin liner and set aside
  2. In a small bowl whisk together the all purpose flour, baking powder, baking soda, blueberries, and salt.
  3. In another small bowl mix the melted butter, sugar, milk, and sour cream.  Add this to the dry mixture and mix until just combined.
  4. Scoop the batter into the prepared muffin liner and place in the oven for 5 minutes before lowering the temperature to 400 and baking for another 12.
  5. Remove from the oven and allow to cool for at least 5 minutes before eating.

IMG_7930

Leave a Reply

