A Blackbird Breakfast

IMG_3076.JPG
A Kane’s Strawberry Frosted Donut

My brother is the king of donuts.  They are by far his favorite food- so much so that that is what my family has resorted to calling him; Donut.

IMG_5501.JPG

Over the years I have had the pleasure of trying many different donut shops due to his obsession.  In these donut filled years my family and I have compiled a list of our favorite must try donuts.  None of us agree on the order of these stores, but we do know that these are by far the best.  The majority of them are based in Massachusetts as that is where we are from and have tried the most donuts.  They are as follows in no particular order:

Today I wanted to share with you guys a little piece of Blackbird, which happens to my father’s absolute favorite.  This store has classic flavors like Chocolate Sprinkle but it also has seasonal ones like Pumpkin Cream Cheese.  Next to the checkout counter the store is complete with a window that leads to the bakery.  While waiting in line for your donuts you can watch the master bakers at work as they pipe, dip, and frost the donuts.

IMG_5508.JPG
Pictured: Chocolate Sprinkle, Funfetti, Pumpkin Cream Cheese

I picked up some for my family recently and grabbed our signature dozen: Two Boston Creme, two Apple Cider Glazed, two Pumpkin Cream Cheese, a Chocolate Old fashioned, a Chocolate Sprinkle, a Funfetti, a Blackbird, a Salted Toffee, and a Carmel Apple Monkey Bread (which isn’t a donut but it was just as good as one).

I thought that all of these flavors were killer and are a must try.  My favorite out of all of those is the Apple Cider Glazed.  It taste like Fall should.  Powdered with just a little bit of cinnamon on top it hits the spot.  If you’re looking for a Fall treat I would skip regular old cinnamon sugar cider donuts and go straight for this.  I would even dare to say that it’s better than those warm cider donuts you get from apple picking.

The moral of this post is go pick yourself up a box of Blackbird- you won’t regret it.

IMG_5510.JPG
A Apple Cider Glazed from Blackbird

Leave a comment